Dr. Prita Nair

Professor of Physics


  • Experience: 29 years of experience.

  • Completed her PhD in Physics from Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, (IIT-M) in 1997 for thesis titled “A Study of Erbium Doped Fiber Amplifiers and Lasers”

  • M.Sc. Physics from Cochin University of Science and Technology (CUSAT), Kerala.

  • She has guided 8 PhD scholars out of which 5 have completed, 1 has submitted the synopsis and 2 are pursuing.

Dr. Prita Nair
M.Sc., Ph.D


  • PhD Physics from Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, (IIT-M) in 1997 for thesis titled “A Study of Erbium Doped Fiber Amplifiers and Lasers”
  • M.Sc. Physics from Cochin University of Science and Technology (CUSAT), Kerala. 

Awards & Distinctions

  • Recipient of Endowment Award for Best Device oriented work to be carried out in an Indian Academic institution at International Conference on Fiberoptics & Photonics, Photonics 2010, Dec 12-15, held at Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
  • Recipient of Laskar Award for Best thesis in Physics from IIT- Madras in 1997
  • II Rank in M.Sc Physics from Cochin University of Science and Technology
  • National Merit Scholarship holder from Pre-Degree to Graduation in 1984

Patent filed

Indian Patent-Prita Nair, M. Renilkumar- “Photonic crystal based tunable optical channel drop filter”, Ref No. 1559/CHE/2011 
Professional Memberships: Life Member ISTE, Life Member ISSS, Member IEEE, Member IEEE Photonics Society. Member OSA
Professional Experience: Teaching 21yrs , R&D : 14 years at SSN and 7.5yrs (prior to SSN apart from PhD research topic)

Courses Handled

  • UG courses : Engineering Physics, Physics for Information Sciences, Semiconductor Physics & Optoelectronics, Electronic Devices & Circuits, Linear Integrated Circuits, Electronic Circuits, MEMS
  • PG Courses : Optical Fiber Communication for M.E Communications, Sensing and Sensors for MS Robotics, (CMU-SSN combined degree), PhD level Directed Studies 

Research Interests: Fiberoptics, Silicon Photonics, Photonic, Sonic & Ultrasonic Bandgap structures, Metamaterials, Si-EO hybrids, Biosensors.

Research Labs Initiated at SSN :

  • Optical Research & Networks Lab (ORNL) –Interdepartmental Collaborative Lab between Physics & ECE departments (2007)
  • Sonic Bandgap & Acoustic Metamaterials Lab (2007)
  • SSN-NMDC (National MEMS Design Centre) –Interdepartmental Collaborative Lab (2010)
  • EO Thin Film Fabrication Laboratory (2012)

Research Experience: 

  • Project Assistant, Senior Project Officer and Project Consultant at IIT-Madras, executing projects on “Development of some optical couplers” and “Development of 1553-B compatible digital fiberoptic databus for light combat aircraft” for Aeronautical Research and Development Board, Govt. Of India (1987-1995)
  • Research Assistant for Private telecom sector working on “Ultra wideband OFA design/simulation for multi-terabit optical network.”(2000-2001)
  • Project Investigator/ Mentor at SSN Institutions

Academic projects completed: 14 UG , 11 PG , 4 Summer Interns (from other institutes)
PhD students: 5 completed, 1 submitted synopsis and 2 ongoing.

Sponsored Research Projects

As Mentor:

  • “Fabrication of Nanobiosensor for low cost, point-of-care detection of alpha feto proteins”- (2017-2020)- sponsored under DST-WOSA scheme (DST/WOS-A/ET61/2016) Gayathry Gangadharan (Research Scholar & PI )- Rs 26 lakhs, Status: Ongoing.
  • “Development of deformable nanophotonic crystal for application as active color change based sensor and tunable reflectors” Internally funded Student Project , 2019 – sponsored by SSN Trust NEW, Status: Initiated.

As PI:

  • “Investigation of Materials in Sonic Band Gap Structures for possible use in stealth applications” (2007-2009), sponsored by Naval Research Board (DNRD/05/4003/NRB-112/MAT/06-07) – Rs 13.61 lakhs , Status: Completed
  • Reconfigurable Wavelength Selective Filters Using One Dimensional Photonic Bandgap Structures In Silicon for ROADM Applications” (2007-2009), sponsored by AICTE-RPS (No 8025/BOR/RPS-85/2006-2007) –Rs 15 lakhs, Status: Completed
  • “Reconfigurable Optical Components Based On Photonic Bandgap Structures”(2006-2011), sponsored by SSN Institutions – Rs 16 lakhs, Status: Completed
  • “Evaluation of Cell processor for computer vision applications and its application as an embedded processor for robotics” initiated in 2006 -2008 , hardware and software supported by IBM-HCL combine. Status: Completed 

As Co-PI

  • Development and characterization of PMN-PT single crystals for under water applications” (2014-2017), sponsored by DST (SERB/F/181/2014-2015) –Dr. N.P Rajesh (PI), Dr Prita Nair(Co-PI) Rs 35 lakhs, Status: Completed


International Conference Papers – Click here
International Journal Papers – Click here.

She is on Deputation at Shiv Nadar University Chennai.